twentysomething in twentyten

7.08.2009

who foots the bill?

It's incredible how from the moment I applied for graduation (MDC) and readmission (to FIU) in January to actually graduating in May to receiving my acceptance letter to continue my education in June - whoa, time has flown. Although I won't be able to register until July 31st, I'm going crazy at the thought of how in the world am I going to pay for this?? Not that FIU is much more expensive than MDC...I've asked the universe who's going to foot the bill on this one?

Except, there I was, crickets in my ears and silence from the universe. So, I made a few calls and asked for solutions and advice from those that have already been in my shoes. "Google grants for women, hispanics, teachers, etc. etc." one friend told me.


I do this, as I'm advised and in this pursuit for money, funding and education I find there is very little wiggle room without the completion of the FAFSA. Irritating if you ask me, considering I was denied based on my husband & I combined make more than neccesary to qualify. However, what the FAFSA fails to recognize is my husband works based on commission; sometimes you're up and well sometimes you're not. Last year proved to be a great year for him (and us), except at the end of the year he was let go from his job and was basically forced to begin from scratch. And there's child support and unexpected expenses and well it wouldn't be fair to have my new husband take the responsibility of my education simply because he makes an honest living. How is that fair and not a strain on our relationship? This should either be paid for by me (like I did at MDC) or paid for by my parents (except they're about to enroll my younger brother) or well, by grants and loans! I'd like to go with that last option...


Anywho, it's been a tough 7 months financially, thinking and planning and attempting to save. Isn't it funny how when you plan to save, it's like being on a diet "hungry" gets in your way? Luckily though, we're surviving it all and I'm sure things will pick up, but it's ultimately not up to me. Unless of course, I can manage to find a job that pays $50k or more per year. And how am I able to do this while I'm attending school on part time basis?


So with the already stressed and tight times, I find myself unsure how I'm going to be able to afford FIU (post admission). I definitely didn't see this one coming...

No comments:

Post a Comment