twentysomething in twentyten

10.29.2009

Do's & Don't of the Christmas wish list....

What a boyfriend should never buy his girlfriend for christmas:

1. Clothes...Dresses, skirts, sweaters.
Unless, you're Julia Roberts in "Pretty Woman" and he's your Richard Gere, girls go running for the hills!! Homeboy, you have a vision of a woman your definitely not dating. Either you have OCD/control issues or you should really accept this girl for who she is.

2. Figurines or statues.
Precious Moments are cute for little girls and were cute in middle school and high school, as adults not so much.

3. Regifted gifts your mom swears she's going to L-O-V-E!
Uh, no really. At the very least, go to Hallmark pick out a simple card, write "Babe, I'm not good with these kind of things, but I hope you enjoy shopping" and add a $50+ gift card to the store she frequents the most! 

4. Fake Jewelry
Let's get one thing straight guys, fake jewelry turns GREeEeEeEN! So, if you're going to get her earrings, a necklace, bracelet or ring...please get the real thing. For the love of G-d silver is inexpensive and sentimental - quit being cheap.

5. Shoes!
Ever seen those DSW commercials, where women are like lionesses stalking their prey...yea, let a woman enjoy the chase of the sale and perfect fit!

---------------------------------------------


What a girlfriend should never buy her boyfriend for Christmas:

1. Socks OR underwear!
Leave this fun job for his mom & aunts, for now they're the only ones
that should look at him with the eyes of a baby that still wears diapers.

2. Video games.
...Unless, of course, you're prepared to get sucked into the game until he beats each level. C'mon ladies, let's be honest, you'd have no one to blame but yourself for not going out or spending time outside the house.

3. Toys.
No really, if he's into collecting Batman figurines either he should buy it for himself or a sibling can get it for him. We're looking for substance; avoid indulgence.

4. Gag gifts.
They may be funny within the first 5 minutes he opens it, but be real the next thought is going to be "NEXT!"

5. Shoes!
Ladies, we know how picky we are when it comes to "the right shoe" not to mention the thrill of trying on a pair, walking over to the mirror and picturing the perfect ensemble for the shoes. Believe it or not, guys like this also! Don't believe me? Go to Niketown or Sports Authority and witness the magic of men shoe shopping!

--------------------------------------------


So, what should you give your significant other for the holidays?? First, let's start off with - how long have you been dating?

0-3 months : you're in like. life is great. you eat out regularly. you're both trying to impress one another. But it may be too soon to splurge on something too expensive, like jewelry or name brand wallet. Give the relationship a little more time to develop but still leave a lasting impression.

Try gifting a giant stuft animal and an over the top christmas card that holds a game card or movie tickets; it promises another date and shows you're interested in seeing more of each other.

But if plush toys and greeting cards are not your thing, try a framed picture of the two of you on vacation or a fun nite out. Halloween's coming up- take pictures & frame it!! The idea is to plant the seed people...pictures are memories frozen in time, so remember the good times! If the relationship fizzles after month 3 cough it up as another learned experience and move forward. Pa' fuera! Pa' la calle....!

3-6 months : Things can definitely take a turn for the best here. Since you're still in the "look at me cause I wanna look at you" stage. Observe and take notes...IF he likes Lacoste or Ralph Lauren try getting him a nice polo and sweater. He'll definitely use during the winter time and even though it's put away for most of the year he'll always think of you during the cold season!

Guys do the same, take notice of what she's into...maybe a nice scarf from a department store will send her into your arms! Think body warmth, who better than your boyfriend and/or girlfriend!?

6-12 months : you like eachother a lot more by this point (hopefully anyway). you're still dressing to impress and hopefully making his engine vrroooommm and/or her kitty purrrrrrrrr (if you know what I mean)!
Lingerie all the way! Get sexy, be romantic. And show off those exotic moves you've been working on. Also another excellent gift would be a Spa getaway or Couples massage.


12-24 months : you've already passed the one year mark and looking forward to giving AND receiving something with a little more "investment". Something that says, I care about you or (if you're there) I love you and don't want to be without you.

Flowers are a great start, guys. Then, definitely jewelry. Keep it classy, try Tiffany's, Mayors, Tous, Judith Ripka, David Yurman, Movado, etc. Great watches for the men.

Season tickets for the sports enthusiast OR the latest gadget for the techi boyfriends may also work.

Anything more than 2 years - well this can be tricky - if you're not looking to get married- Jewelry (necklaces, charm bracelets, or promise ring, etc), purses, wallets, money clips, car stuff, tickets to his favorite sport, and vacations are always a perfect fit.

Remember to give attention to detail. You should have a sense of one another by now, if s/he's been mentioning how much s/he'd really like (insert your xmas wish here) then surprise s/him by getting it! This is especially important for the guys, little things like this shows us you were listening and not simply tuning us ladies out!


Can't forget the, ahem, rekindled romance couples...I say throw out all the rules and play your own game! Live in the like stage, play with the married stage, enjoy the boyfriend/girlfriend stage.

What the heck? Splurge, don't splurge, at this point you know where both of you stand and should be able to talk about your needs and truly fulfill eachother without trying to "figure it out".

Lastly -
MAJOR, MAJOR, MAJOR this is for both MEN & WOMEN - No matter what, when gifting always include a card and a cute message.

___________________________________


What's the best and worst christmas gift you've ever gotten??



OMG, this was a fun blog for me...thanx for reading, ily all

xoxo always karla

10.27.2009

25 Things about ME!

Rules:
Once you've been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it's because I want to know more about you.

(To do this, go to "notes" under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.

1.I'm a brunette!

2.I love to shop online, the mall & small boutiques.

3.I'm a student in pursuit of becoming a teacher that will influence my children & other people's kids to be earth-friendly and earth-conscious!

4.I blog at www.aboutkarla.com often; a site about me, my thoughts and current happenings! I'm not conceited, I swear. LOL

5.I hope the order of this list doesn't reveal some order of priority or OCD thought process...I'm just writing as it comes to me psych majors. Nothing to over-analyze here!

6.My dog's name is Token and he's a chocolate lab...no matter how many things I have going on or how many other ppl look after him, he always remembers me. There's nothing better - truly. No one takes the place of the MOMMA!

7.I love deeply & quickly, however, I also leave just as quickly if you betray me. I play for keeps.

8.If you wanna pay my bills, I won't stop you.

9.My family grounds me.

10.I'm virtually accessible via facebook, twitter, aim, msn, yahoo, gmail, blogger, myspace, but you may not always catch me there.

11.I'm a Gemini, however, I have a soft spot for virgos, scorpios and sagittarius'.

12.I'm looking forward to joining the Teacher's Union, summers off, teacher work days and paid holidays.

13.I used to hate my name, then I got over it.

14.My boyfriend's cuter and funnier than my ex.

15.Cuban coffee saved my life, and I'm not Cuban.

16.My first name is Karla; in France it means "Strong"

17.My middle name is Michelle; in France it means "like god"

18.My family name is Diaz; it is Spanish ironically. Meaning "may God protect, the supplanter."

19.I try as often as possible to take lots of action shots and stills.

20.Sometimes I feel like Julia Roberts in Runaway Bride, but instead of eggs, my vice is alcohol.

21.I pamper myself for myself.

22.If cuddling were a sport I'd win the gold medal at the Olympics!

23.I pinky promise to never let my kids quit like I did when I was kid.

24.I'd like to own my own property within the next year.

25.My best friends have always been by my side even when we're miles apart.

xoxo always karla

10.24.2009

figured it out...

After putting 2 and 2 together I realized...my body's cry was part of the perks of being a woman. Doesn't look like I'll be croaking anytime soon - phew!

Yup, you're all stuck with me. Love you.

xoxo always karla

10.22.2009

Where are we now?

A few weeks ago I blogged about my financial planning and traveling agenda for the remainder of '09 and some potential plans for '10's Greece trip with the girls (going well so far thanks to the collaborative efforts of the group) AND I'm glad to report that things are going very well...if you've been keeping up with http://www.aboutkarla.com/ my room is complete with a new flat screen TV, arm chair and small desk, i've gone to Puerto Rico to visit my family as well as gone on vacation with friends to Atlantis and partially through the good fortune and benevolence of the people surrounding me I've managed to get my TAN back!! Woohooooooooo!! lmao....

Also, we're studying for the CAM exam, noodle's test date is set for next week so we're studying every other night and weekend and we're at the point of cramming BUT feeling good, soooo please friends wish him luck!!!

On the side, (like noodle) noodle's ambitious little sister is writing a book and she's got a TON of great ideas - it's bound to be a hit. So if anyone knows of where and how to publish I'll pass along the info and get her moving...

My mommy's looking to find me a house that I can potentially buy in the coming months...anyone else think she's sending me the "it's time to leave the nest" message LOL j/k ily m

Ohh, I've gotten B's so far on all my quizzes and exams and last week I got a 94% which rocks!

Hmm...omg Token is so big. He's going to be 2 yrs old in February...he's developing this biting while playing thing, so we're all working on getting that to stop real quick. lol. Him and Bandido need to work out their differences- my dad is totally annoyed by the constant barking...poor old man..but he's hanging in there and walking him for me now that I have this crazy schedule.

ASIDE: I'm in the mood for Flanny's..yummmmm

My brothers are HUGE - srsly Gabe is big...playin ball and working out evry night. the kid's a stud and Danny, the baby is also an all star & well still the ladies' man. LOL (hope you're reading this...)

My cousin keeps talking about this website that I'm apparently recommending foods and hot latin spots but, err I have no clue what he's talking about, so if anyone runs into this site, send me a link i'd be curious to see whats up...lol

Still haven't decided what to be for Halloween yet, although I think I may have narrowed it down to a cute ladybug for my work costume and a sexy gypsy or burlesque babe for the weekend...BUT no one can steal my idea now that i've said it and if you do everyone will know that I had the idea first..naninanibubu!! :-p~~

anywho...we had a chill weekend; studied, saw Land of the Lost (chaka! lol) and went out to Gameworks for a bday, drinks and games...and somehow we managed to agree on going to Epcot for the Intl FOod & Wine festival- ay dios mio q locura! ya veremos si se da o no.. 

And in true gemini form I've talked a little about nothing and everything at once...hope you all enjoyed this blurb lol...

As always I'll keep ya posted...xoxo always karla

10.20.2009

doc follow-up

Hello friends, I called in for my test results today and everything as it turns out is "normal" the doc didn't even feel it was necessary to call me or see me to let me know. This is incredible. I'm telling you, my body is crying out for some sort of attention and not getting any feedback or response. So-I'm telling all of you first, if I randomly don't wake up one morning or collapse b/c of some congenital birth defect so subtle no one could detect you know I tried to give a warning and sought help.





On another note - it's lunch time and i'm hungry...peace.

xoxo always karla

10.16.2009

didn't wake up feeling crappy...

that's a start right?

Waking up & not feeling crappy...I wonder if it has to do with the fact that I finally got paid after waiting 15 days, hence relieving me of some anxiety? Or maybe my body finally decided NOT to hate me for at least one day...?! lol.

anywho, I got a call from the divorce attorney this afternoon AND the deadline soon approaches for everything to be finalize. According to him, as soon as he receives my "answer" and paperwork, he files then sets a trial date and boom 2 weeks later we're a dissolved disunion. sad, if you stop to think about it all. but then again "it is what it is," right. that's the popular saying anyway..................I don't think I'll be stopping any time soon though.

As life would have it last night, while I waited to meet with my hunky beau for dinner, I began playing catch up with the season 6 of Grey's Anatomy and ironically enough the episode was about the 5 stages of grief and how we all handle them differently. Here goes, let's check mark together, shall we?
  1. Denial - I would say I definitely went through this stage for a very long time. So much so that I just found out that that little red, chinese massage parlor on bird & 90 something is a "happy endings" massage place AND guess what that's where he would go EVERY effn Friday...I'm here thinking (in denial) he needs a stress reliever when what he really wanted was a goddamn hand job...the nerve. CHECK!
  2. Anger - obviously, I've reached that stage. I'm not one of those crazy psycho chicks that's going to key ur car or break a windshield. But the thought of my own naivete truly angered and irritated me. so yea, CHECK!
  3. Bargaining - Yup, this stage probably came before the ANGER but I'll admit it. In the hopes of salvaging our marriage even while he was living with this woman I would still innocently offer to make him a warm meal or wash his clothes. All in the hopes that he would see how much better "our" life or life with me was. Yup, CHECK again!
  4. Depression - eh, luckily, I can say I've got a strong support system which includes my doggy, my mom, dad, brothers & my girls. With their help (and loving distractions) I didn't really fall into this stage. Besides, this is when my own personal knight managed to step in and save me once again; like that time my car ran out of gas and he left work & showed up with a tank of gas. ♥
  5. Acceptance - This is where I've been for quite some time, but really really the call yesterday with the State Attorney and today's conversation with the Divorce attorney truly puts ACCEPTANCE at the forefront of my mind. All that other stuff is in the past. It happend - the good and the bad. And now, without fail I'm on another path seemingly happy with myself, my family and friends and love interest.
Yea, my tummy doesn't hurt so much anymore. Noodle makes me happy and comfy, I think. Is it strange that this all happend so quickly?

ok enough thinking for one day, my brain is tingling!

xoxo always karla

10.14.2009

Moment of weakness

Friends, I do not feel so good.

For several weeks I've sort of had moments of dizziness, headaches, shortness of breath, sharp chest & back pain, tummy aches and tons of nauseated moments (before and after I eat). Honestly sometimes I only eat to make the nausea go away, but then it comes back and I feel like my food is in my throat. Ugh. Not a good feeling.

Now, to top it off I'm under a ton of stress at work with some of the new Board members and their requirements...there once was a moment where everything was happy, peaceful and a pleasure. Let's just hope we go back to that sooner, rather than later...b/c if not I see myself looking for another job. My health is definitely more important.

So anyway -yesterday- finally after not wanting to deal with the random moments of blah & weakness I made an appt to see my primary. Maybe he'll tell me I'm anemic or have low blood sugar, cholesterol, w/e or I'm just not sure.

Regardless, I'm preparing for the worst though hoping and expecting the best.

Wish me luck please! I'm a lil scared........

xoxo always karla

10.08.2009

Show me the $$$$$$$$

It seems like everyone I've come into contact with recently is either planning to start a new business or has already started. SO- let's talk people! What sort of business would you like to see KARLA open???

I can tell you that there's an open stream of cute boutiques opening up everywhere, especially in the areas one would not expect. And with the advent of this new mall coming to West Kendall, a boutique or jewelry store may fit like a perfect size 7 Michael Kors platform!

..what else???

No food, please. I dont about the whole waking up at the crack of dawn and dealing with perishables...

I'll list some ideas and let you run with the pros and cons.......
  • retail -
    • clothes
    • shoes
    • handbags & clutches
    • jewelry
    • sexy intimates
    • novelty
    • arts & crafts
    • invitations
  • hair & nails - I may not know how to do your hair & nails but I can hire really, really good looking people who do! ;)
  • property management - it's what I do; been doing for 4 years.
    • management
    • leasing
  • Write a book -
    • children's book
    • miami art (locals)
    • cook book
    • finishing my award winning novel that Oprah will include in her book club and make me rich! (a girl can dream, right!?)

Anything you can think will be great...let's make it happen friends!!!!

xoxo always karla

10.07.2009

Back from Atlantis!!

Wow...great trip! Here are a few pics, EnJoY!!





















Happy Birthday Becky, "Stephanie" & Tiffanie!
& thanks to Phil & Ariel for a great time in Paradise
xoxoxoxo always karla!