twentysomething in twentyten

9.30.2009

Humor never killed anyone...

We're off on a plane tomorrow to Atlantis and at our own expense, here are a few airplane jokes, enjoy!

A plane was taking off from Kennedy Airport. After it reached a comfortable cruising altitude, the captain made an announcement over the intercom, "Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking. Welcome to Flight Number 293, non-stop from New York to Los Angeles. The weather ahead is good and, therefore, we should have a smooth and uneventful flight. Now sit back and relax - OH, MY G-D!" Silence followed, and after a few minutes the captain came back on the intercom and said, "Ladies and Gentlemen, I am so sorry if I scared you earlier; but, while I was talking, the flight attendant brought me a cup of coffee and spilled the hot coffee in my lap. You should see the front of my pants!" A passenger in Coach said, "That's nothing. He should see the back of mine!"



And another one....

A young and foolish pilot wanted to sound cool on the aviation frequencies. So, this was his first time approaching a field during the nighttime. Instead of making any official requests to the tower, he said: "Guess who?" The controller switched the field lights off and replied: "Guess where?"


Ok, ok 1 more and that's it!!

Four people are in an airplane, the pilot, the smartest man in the world, the richest man in the world, and a punk teenager. The airplane experiences some difficulties, and the pilot informs the three passengers that the plane is going to crash, and there are only three parachutes on the plane. The richest man in the world takes one, because he says that his lawyers will sue everyone else on the plane if he doesn't survive. The smartest man in the world takes a parachute, because he thinks that the world would be a worse place without him. The pilot says to the punk "There's only one parachute left, I'll fight you for it." "That won't be necessary," said the punk, "The smartest man in the world took my backpack."



LMAO! xoxo always karla



9.28.2009

To Do List...

The weekend came and went and for the most part I laid low.

We're about 3 days away from hopping on a plane to Paradise Island, Bahamas and staying in Atlantis for the Paul & Young Ron event! I won't lie about 7 days ago I was soooo ready and well I have a feeling that the closer we get the more anxious I'll be. Is this normal??? Butterfliiiiiieeess!

Saturday was all about TCB however I still need at least one more cute bikini for the trip...So I was thinking either a solid black, white or purple. Any suggestions on where to go, oh yea and where I won't be spending OVER $50!? Fall is here after all...Clearance!

So far on the places of must stop shops, I've got:
  • The Electric Boutique
  • Angel Boutique
  • American Eagle
  • Victoria's Secret

Back to work I go, but I hope that won't stop anyone from responding to my post......!

xoxo always karla






pinup Pictures, Images and Photos

9.25.2009

Rant and Rave

Ok so here goes...A few weeks ago I wrote about how my marriage did not work out & there was no chance of it EVER working out. As a result, there was an out pour of how strong I am for doing and sharing and now nearly 3 months later I begin to date someone and mention it in my blog and I'm the bad girl? WTF? Talk about a dbl standard. The freakin guy violates the sacrament of marriage b/c he got an itch, goes off to live with ONE of the women and I have to sit and wait around?!

I mean really, although I hate to argue and disagree with my elders (b/c they're usually right), this time I'm standing my ground and saying, "it's isn't 1987 and he isn't the only man in the sea!" I can fish, I can swim and I can probably fly if I wanted to!

Shoot I remember when one of my exes & I broke up, we were together for nearly 5 years. after we broke, I was single for a short period of time, then I dated this awesome guy (we're still friends to this day), we were both young and going in different directions, I was going to FIU hanging out with my girls - enjoying my youth! So much so that I chose for myself to not have a declared bf. Revolutionary. It was during this time that I truly got a chance to figure myself out. TO know what I wanted... unfortunately, what I wanted to was to party, get wasted and hoook up! LMAO. So yea I was fun, but it didnt really work out in my favor in the long run. School suffered, parents didnt sleep and eventually that everyday link to all those "friends" is only through facebook. which is cool and not a total loss of what my life once was....but anyway, I'm writing b/c isn't life about reaching the top, falling down and getting right back up!? Re-inventing myself/yourself with every step (up or down)??

Long story short, I find myself at similar crossroads...newly separated from a long term relationship, back in the game and at FIU finishing up what I started so long ago. Except this time I get to use that thing called "hindsight" and more than likely although I am the same person, I'll make different choices.

Maybe one of those choices is to date someone now who shares the same views for the future, we can marry or not. I can serial date for the time being or not. I can also decide to successfully finish all the way through to my masters and live in harmony with my future husband, 2 kids and my cute chocolate lab in some comfortable house that suits all our needs for as long as Momma Earth wants us here!

The point is- don't judge or assume you know the present if you aren't in it. Ask questions, get involved and be supportive. If you don't agree, then do what you have to do you...That's all i'm saying.

thank goodness for blogs and venting...I didn't need that cig to bring me down after all.

xoxo always karla

9.23.2009

time and doctors heal all wounds...

So here I am sitting outside on the deck at work having my lunch; I'm making a few calls and payments between bites into my yummy chicken caesar wrap from au bon pain when I notice that I get an email from an old friend...AND it's him doing stand up! Rate it for yourself...
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHc__5nPz6k

____________________________________________

In other news, I applied for my US passport renewal last week, just a mere 16 days before travelling outside the US without, I repeat, without knowing that the process normally takes about 4-6 weeks AND an arm/leg to expedite without guarantee within 2-3 weeks! FML

Needless to say I'm missing an arm/leg but i'll be on vacation either way come Oct 1!

And well, thanks to Facebook, the cat's outta the bag! I'm dating someone and that's all I'm saying! ♥ ♥ ♥

xoxo always karla

9.10.2009

Return from Puerto Rican Paradise


It's been nearly 10 years since I last visited Puerto Rico. I'll tell you one thing, seeing with the eyes of a 26 yr old is definitely different than those innocent eyes of a 16 yr old! The roads seemed longer, the hills steeper and the streets cleaner back then.


Like many countries and islands in the Carribean, Puerto Rico is not excluded from the vast range of empoverished barrios to fast-paced luxury living. San Juan (primarily Condado) is booming and thriving with renovated hotels, restaurants and high end retail shops. It was great to visit Condado, however, my family in particular is spread out along the North, North East part of the island. I visited Guaynabo "City" LOL (& campo), Trujillo Alto, Bayamon, Santurce, Arecibo, Hatillo, Ponce ("Ponce es Ponce, y lo demas parqueo..." yea right! LOL) and rekindled in that humilty that is both my parents family, managing to pick up the occasional "bendito nene" "nena" "ay 'dito" "brutal" "papi" "es igual q' la mai" and a badass perspective on love & life. If I didn't know any better, I'd say I'm one lucky girl with great history and heritage!

A quick, but love filled shout out to Titi Luisa & Tio Hiram por brindar tu hogar, aire condicionado y paseos por la isla, Javi & Ana por ser buenos alumnos de salsa y choferres, Luis y Bebo, primos - por todo! Titi Lillian y Tio Angel por los piononos (yummmmm) y bizcocho! Nina- q' te mejores miamor, Yazmin y Maria- ojala nos vemos mas a menudo.

Titi Mimi y Tio Edwin, Omar, Marelis (y Wilfredo) y David - los aprecio muchisimo! Me diverti bastante en la playa de Hatillo y q rico el Frape y mini frituras! yummmm!! Titi y Tio como siempre su aconsejo es inestimable.


Abuela - bendicion!!!!!!!! No hay palabras, te adoro! besoooooo y abrazo


Abuelo Santo - gracias por los diez pesitos, aunque no era necesario..jaja, le compre un regalito a mis hermanos de parte tuya.

And, so here I am back in Miami, ready to hit the books and work again. Glad to be back...I missed my parents, brothers, mushu and friends very much. I'm grateful for the renewed connection with my extended family and wonderful new memories and safe flight to and fro; it is priceless.

xoxo always karla

9.02.2009

Happy Hump Bump Day!

Happy Hump Bump day! You know it must be lunch time if I'm blogging; LOL. I've had a few questions on how to create these fun little pics I post from time to time, the answer is http://www.picnik.com/! A friend or mine (Jackie) totally reeled me in - hook line & sinker! (Sink her, I didn't even know her! burumpbump! LMFAO...yea I'm bored.)

Anyway...............

So I saw "The Unborn" and it wasn't bad after all. Although I'm not necessarily a scary movie fan it was good.

Karla's movieheart rating: ♥ ♥ ♥

___________________________________

I do have a confession...it was supposed to be a secret. But the guilt is too heavy........I ate OREO cookies last night!!!!!! OMG I can so laugh about it now, but really, you should've seen me. I silently crept downstairs, opened the cupboard and as quietly as possible I opened the Oreos package. Poured myself a small glass of milk and ate...sigh. Then of course, my mother had to come downstairs TOTALLY CATCHING ME IN THE ACT! Ugh, there went all my credibility. Damn. So I wrapped it all up, told her she was nosey and went up to my room. I'm sorry mommy, didn't mean to, love you though. :-D

Just a few more minutes left of lunch, so I'll be wrapping this up now. No really, like it's time to say goodbye, I'll be back tomorrow. Hopefully anyway.

xoxo always karla

PS. Oh yea about this rain, can we make it go away, please? Thank you.

9.01.2009

Movie Tonight


I will see "The Unborn" tonight even if it kills me and I'm alone in the dark, darnit. There's nothing worse that having a movie for 1 week and not taking the time to actually sit down and watch it! Grr.

This one's a quickie! xoxo always Karla