twentysomething in twentyten

12.15.2009

Santa baby

Santa baby, slip a sable under the tree, for me
I've been an awful good girl
Santa baby, and hurry down the chimney tonight

Santa baby, an out-of-space convertible too, light blue
I'll wait up for you dear
Santa baby, and hurry down the chimney tonight

Think of all the fun I've missed
Think of all the fellas that I haven't kissed
Next year I could be oh so good
If you'd check off my Christmas list

Boo doo bee doo

Santa honey, I wanna yacht and really that's
Not a lot
I've been an angel all year
Santa baby, and hurry down the chimney tonight

Santa cutie, there's one thing I really do need, the deed
To a platinum mine
Santa cutie, and hurry down the chimney tonight

Santa baby, I'm filling my stocking with a duplex, and checks
Sign your 'X' on the line
Santa baby, and hurry down the chimney tonight
Come and trim my Christmas tree
With some decorations bought at Tiffany's
I really do believe in you
Let's see if you believe in me

Boo doo bee doo

Santa baby, forgot to mention one little thing, a ring
I don't mean a phone
Santa baby, and hurry down the chimney tonight
Hurry down the chimney tonight
Hurry down the chimney tonight




Hapy Birthday Mom! (and Ariel's mom and all the other fabulous Dec. 15th bday ppl out there!! lol)

One more thing, Merry Christmas Everyone...we're less than 10 days away!

xoxo always karla

11.24.2009

ying and yang of it all

Dear Friends,

This morning I read an interesting FB status update and realized the perplexities of both women and men. The saying is so true of Men being from Mars and Women from Venus...so I decided to put a blame on the balance of life and of course the ying and yang of it all.

I thought the below quotes were cool and complex. Read on and provide feedback if you like!




Heaven is born of activity and Earth is born of tranquillity. The interaction of activity and tranquillity gives full development to the Way of Heaven and Earth. At the first appearance of activity, yang is produced. As activity reaches its limit, yin is produced. The interaction of yin and yang gives full development to the functions of Heaven. At the first appearance of tranquillity, the element of weakness is produced. When weakness reaches its limit, the element of strength is produced. The interaction of these two elements gives full development to the functions of Earth. Greater activity is called major yang, while greater tranquillity is called major yin. Lesser activity is called minor yang, while lesser tranquillity is called minor yin. Major yang constitutes the sun; major yin, the moon; lesser yang, the stars; and lesser yin, the zodiacal spaces. The interaction of the sun, moon, stars, and zodiacal spaces gives full development to the substance of Heaven. Greater tranquillity is called major weakness, while lesser tranquillity is called minor weakness. Greater activity is called major strength, while lesser activity is called minor strength. Lesser weakness constitutes water; major strength, fire; lesser weakness, earth; and lesser strength, stone. The interaction of water, fire, soil, and stone gives full development to substance of Earth.
___________________________________

Material force moves and flows in all directions and in all manners. Its two elements unite and give rise to the concrete. Thus the multiplicity of things and human beings is produced. In their ceaseless successions the two elements of yin and yang constitute the great principles of the universe.
___________________________________

If yin and yang do not exist, the One (the Great Ultimate)" can not revealed If the One cannot be revealed then the function of the two forces will cease, Reality and unreality, motion and rest, integration and disintegration, and clearness and turbidity are two different substances. In the final analysis, however, they are one.


xoxo always karla

10.29.2009

Do's & Don't of the Christmas wish list....

What a boyfriend should never buy his girlfriend for christmas:

1. Clothes...Dresses, skirts, sweaters.
Unless, you're Julia Roberts in "Pretty Woman" and he's your Richard Gere, girls go running for the hills!! Homeboy, you have a vision of a woman your definitely not dating. Either you have OCD/control issues or you should really accept this girl for who she is.

2. Figurines or statues.
Precious Moments are cute for little girls and were cute in middle school and high school, as adults not so much.

3. Regifted gifts your mom swears she's going to L-O-V-E!
Uh, no really. At the very least, go to Hallmark pick out a simple card, write "Babe, I'm not good with these kind of things, but I hope you enjoy shopping" and add a $50+ gift card to the store she frequents the most! 

4. Fake Jewelry
Let's get one thing straight guys, fake jewelry turns GREeEeEeEN! So, if you're going to get her earrings, a necklace, bracelet or ring...please get the real thing. For the love of G-d silver is inexpensive and sentimental - quit being cheap.

5. Shoes!
Ever seen those DSW commercials, where women are like lionesses stalking their prey...yea, let a woman enjoy the chase of the sale and perfect fit!

---------------------------------------------


What a girlfriend should never buy her boyfriend for Christmas:

1. Socks OR underwear!
Leave this fun job for his mom & aunts, for now they're the only ones
that should look at him with the eyes of a baby that still wears diapers.

2. Video games.
...Unless, of course, you're prepared to get sucked into the game until he beats each level. C'mon ladies, let's be honest, you'd have no one to blame but yourself for not going out or spending time outside the house.

3. Toys.
No really, if he's into collecting Batman figurines either he should buy it for himself or a sibling can get it for him. We're looking for substance; avoid indulgence.

4. Gag gifts.
They may be funny within the first 5 minutes he opens it, but be real the next thought is going to be "NEXT!"

5. Shoes!
Ladies, we know how picky we are when it comes to "the right shoe" not to mention the thrill of trying on a pair, walking over to the mirror and picturing the perfect ensemble for the shoes. Believe it or not, guys like this also! Don't believe me? Go to Niketown or Sports Authority and witness the magic of men shoe shopping!

--------------------------------------------


So, what should you give your significant other for the holidays?? First, let's start off with - how long have you been dating?

0-3 months : you're in like. life is great. you eat out regularly. you're both trying to impress one another. But it may be too soon to splurge on something too expensive, like jewelry or name brand wallet. Give the relationship a little more time to develop but still leave a lasting impression.

Try gifting a giant stuft animal and an over the top christmas card that holds a game card or movie tickets; it promises another date and shows you're interested in seeing more of each other.

But if plush toys and greeting cards are not your thing, try a framed picture of the two of you on vacation or a fun nite out. Halloween's coming up- take pictures & frame it!! The idea is to plant the seed people...pictures are memories frozen in time, so remember the good times! If the relationship fizzles after month 3 cough it up as another learned experience and move forward. Pa' fuera! Pa' la calle....!

3-6 months : Things can definitely take a turn for the best here. Since you're still in the "look at me cause I wanna look at you" stage. Observe and take notes...IF he likes Lacoste or Ralph Lauren try getting him a nice polo and sweater. He'll definitely use during the winter time and even though it's put away for most of the year he'll always think of you during the cold season!

Guys do the same, take notice of what she's into...maybe a nice scarf from a department store will send her into your arms! Think body warmth, who better than your boyfriend and/or girlfriend!?

6-12 months : you like eachother a lot more by this point (hopefully anyway). you're still dressing to impress and hopefully making his engine vrroooommm and/or her kitty purrrrrrrrr (if you know what I mean)!
Lingerie all the way! Get sexy, be romantic. And show off those exotic moves you've been working on. Also another excellent gift would be a Spa getaway or Couples massage.


12-24 months : you've already passed the one year mark and looking forward to giving AND receiving something with a little more "investment". Something that says, I care about you or (if you're there) I love you and don't want to be without you.

Flowers are a great start, guys. Then, definitely jewelry. Keep it classy, try Tiffany's, Mayors, Tous, Judith Ripka, David Yurman, Movado, etc. Great watches for the men.

Season tickets for the sports enthusiast OR the latest gadget for the techi boyfriends may also work.

Anything more than 2 years - well this can be tricky - if you're not looking to get married- Jewelry (necklaces, charm bracelets, or promise ring, etc), purses, wallets, money clips, car stuff, tickets to his favorite sport, and vacations are always a perfect fit.

Remember to give attention to detail. You should have a sense of one another by now, if s/he's been mentioning how much s/he'd really like (insert your xmas wish here) then surprise s/him by getting it! This is especially important for the guys, little things like this shows us you were listening and not simply tuning us ladies out!


Can't forget the, ahem, rekindled romance couples...I say throw out all the rules and play your own game! Live in the like stage, play with the married stage, enjoy the boyfriend/girlfriend stage.

What the heck? Splurge, don't splurge, at this point you know where both of you stand and should be able to talk about your needs and truly fulfill eachother without trying to "figure it out".

Lastly -
MAJOR, MAJOR, MAJOR this is for both MEN & WOMEN - No matter what, when gifting always include a card and a cute message.

___________________________________


What's the best and worst christmas gift you've ever gotten??



OMG, this was a fun blog for me...thanx for reading, ily all

xoxo always karla

10.27.2009

25 Things about ME!

Rules:
Once you've been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it's because I want to know more about you.

(To do this, go to "notes" under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.

1.I'm a brunette!

2.I love to shop online, the mall & small boutiques.

3.I'm a student in pursuit of becoming a teacher that will influence my children & other people's kids to be earth-friendly and earth-conscious!

4.I blog at www.aboutkarla.com often; a site about me, my thoughts and current happenings! I'm not conceited, I swear. LOL

5.I hope the order of this list doesn't reveal some order of priority or OCD thought process...I'm just writing as it comes to me psych majors. Nothing to over-analyze here!

6.My dog's name is Token and he's a chocolate lab...no matter how many things I have going on or how many other ppl look after him, he always remembers me. There's nothing better - truly. No one takes the place of the MOMMA!

7.I love deeply & quickly, however, I also leave just as quickly if you betray me. I play for keeps.

8.If you wanna pay my bills, I won't stop you.

9.My family grounds me.

10.I'm virtually accessible via facebook, twitter, aim, msn, yahoo, gmail, blogger, myspace, but you may not always catch me there.

11.I'm a Gemini, however, I have a soft spot for virgos, scorpios and sagittarius'.

12.I'm looking forward to joining the Teacher's Union, summers off, teacher work days and paid holidays.

13.I used to hate my name, then I got over it.

14.My boyfriend's cuter and funnier than my ex.

15.Cuban coffee saved my life, and I'm not Cuban.

16.My first name is Karla; in France it means "Strong"

17.My middle name is Michelle; in France it means "like god"

18.My family name is Diaz; it is Spanish ironically. Meaning "may God protect, the supplanter."

19.I try as often as possible to take lots of action shots and stills.

20.Sometimes I feel like Julia Roberts in Runaway Bride, but instead of eggs, my vice is alcohol.

21.I pamper myself for myself.

22.If cuddling were a sport I'd win the gold medal at the Olympics!

23.I pinky promise to never let my kids quit like I did when I was kid.

24.I'd like to own my own property within the next year.

25.My best friends have always been by my side even when we're miles apart.

xoxo always karla

10.24.2009

figured it out...

After putting 2 and 2 together I realized...my body's cry was part of the perks of being a woman. Doesn't look like I'll be croaking anytime soon - phew!

Yup, you're all stuck with me. Love you.

xoxo always karla

10.22.2009

Where are we now?

A few weeks ago I blogged about my financial planning and traveling agenda for the remainder of '09 and some potential plans for '10's Greece trip with the girls (going well so far thanks to the collaborative efforts of the group) AND I'm glad to report that things are going very well...if you've been keeping up with http://www.aboutkarla.com/ my room is complete with a new flat screen TV, arm chair and small desk, i've gone to Puerto Rico to visit my family as well as gone on vacation with friends to Atlantis and partially through the good fortune and benevolence of the people surrounding me I've managed to get my TAN back!! Woohooooooooo!! lmao....

Also, we're studying for the CAM exam, noodle's test date is set for next week so we're studying every other night and weekend and we're at the point of cramming BUT feeling good, soooo please friends wish him luck!!!

On the side, (like noodle) noodle's ambitious little sister is writing a book and she's got a TON of great ideas - it's bound to be a hit. So if anyone knows of where and how to publish I'll pass along the info and get her moving...

My mommy's looking to find me a house that I can potentially buy in the coming months...anyone else think she's sending me the "it's time to leave the nest" message LOL j/k ily m

Ohh, I've gotten B's so far on all my quizzes and exams and last week I got a 94% which rocks!

Hmm...omg Token is so big. He's going to be 2 yrs old in February...he's developing this biting while playing thing, so we're all working on getting that to stop real quick. lol. Him and Bandido need to work out their differences- my dad is totally annoyed by the constant barking...poor old man..but he's hanging in there and walking him for me now that I have this crazy schedule.

ASIDE: I'm in the mood for Flanny's..yummmmm

My brothers are HUGE - srsly Gabe is big...playin ball and working out evry night. the kid's a stud and Danny, the baby is also an all star & well still the ladies' man. LOL (hope you're reading this...)

My cousin keeps talking about this website that I'm apparently recommending foods and hot latin spots but, err I have no clue what he's talking about, so if anyone runs into this site, send me a link i'd be curious to see whats up...lol

Still haven't decided what to be for Halloween yet, although I think I may have narrowed it down to a cute ladybug for my work costume and a sexy gypsy or burlesque babe for the weekend...BUT no one can steal my idea now that i've said it and if you do everyone will know that I had the idea first..naninanibubu!! :-p~~

anywho...we had a chill weekend; studied, saw Land of the Lost (chaka! lol) and went out to Gameworks for a bday, drinks and games...and somehow we managed to agree on going to Epcot for the Intl FOod & Wine festival- ay dios mio q locura! ya veremos si se da o no.. 

And in true gemini form I've talked a little about nothing and everything at once...hope you all enjoyed this blurb lol...

As always I'll keep ya posted...xoxo always karla

10.20.2009

doc follow-up

Hello friends, I called in for my test results today and everything as it turns out is "normal" the doc didn't even feel it was necessary to call me or see me to let me know. This is incredible. I'm telling you, my body is crying out for some sort of attention and not getting any feedback or response. So-I'm telling all of you first, if I randomly don't wake up one morning or collapse b/c of some congenital birth defect so subtle no one could detect you know I tried to give a warning and sought help.





On another note - it's lunch time and i'm hungry...peace.

xoxo always karla

10.16.2009

didn't wake up feeling crappy...

that's a start right?

Waking up & not feeling crappy...I wonder if it has to do with the fact that I finally got paid after waiting 15 days, hence relieving me of some anxiety? Or maybe my body finally decided NOT to hate me for at least one day...?! lol.

anywho, I got a call from the divorce attorney this afternoon AND the deadline soon approaches for everything to be finalize. According to him, as soon as he receives my "answer" and paperwork, he files then sets a trial date and boom 2 weeks later we're a dissolved disunion. sad, if you stop to think about it all. but then again "it is what it is," right. that's the popular saying anyway..................I don't think I'll be stopping any time soon though.

As life would have it last night, while I waited to meet with my hunky beau for dinner, I began playing catch up with the season 6 of Grey's Anatomy and ironically enough the episode was about the 5 stages of grief and how we all handle them differently. Here goes, let's check mark together, shall we?
  1. Denial - I would say I definitely went through this stage for a very long time. So much so that I just found out that that little red, chinese massage parlor on bird & 90 something is a "happy endings" massage place AND guess what that's where he would go EVERY effn Friday...I'm here thinking (in denial) he needs a stress reliever when what he really wanted was a goddamn hand job...the nerve. CHECK!
  2. Anger - obviously, I've reached that stage. I'm not one of those crazy psycho chicks that's going to key ur car or break a windshield. But the thought of my own naivete truly angered and irritated me. so yea, CHECK!
  3. Bargaining - Yup, this stage probably came before the ANGER but I'll admit it. In the hopes of salvaging our marriage even while he was living with this woman I would still innocently offer to make him a warm meal or wash his clothes. All in the hopes that he would see how much better "our" life or life with me was. Yup, CHECK again!
  4. Depression - eh, luckily, I can say I've got a strong support system which includes my doggy, my mom, dad, brothers & my girls. With their help (and loving distractions) I didn't really fall into this stage. Besides, this is when my own personal knight managed to step in and save me once again; like that time my car ran out of gas and he left work & showed up with a tank of gas. ♥
  5. Acceptance - This is where I've been for quite some time, but really really the call yesterday with the State Attorney and today's conversation with the Divorce attorney truly puts ACCEPTANCE at the forefront of my mind. All that other stuff is in the past. It happend - the good and the bad. And now, without fail I'm on another path seemingly happy with myself, my family and friends and love interest.
Yea, my tummy doesn't hurt so much anymore. Noodle makes me happy and comfy, I think. Is it strange that this all happend so quickly?

ok enough thinking for one day, my brain is tingling!

xoxo always karla

10.14.2009

Moment of weakness

Friends, I do not feel so good.

For several weeks I've sort of had moments of dizziness, headaches, shortness of breath, sharp chest & back pain, tummy aches and tons of nauseated moments (before and after I eat). Honestly sometimes I only eat to make the nausea go away, but then it comes back and I feel like my food is in my throat. Ugh. Not a good feeling.

Now, to top it off I'm under a ton of stress at work with some of the new Board members and their requirements...there once was a moment where everything was happy, peaceful and a pleasure. Let's just hope we go back to that sooner, rather than later...b/c if not I see myself looking for another job. My health is definitely more important.

So anyway -yesterday- finally after not wanting to deal with the random moments of blah & weakness I made an appt to see my primary. Maybe he'll tell me I'm anemic or have low blood sugar, cholesterol, w/e or I'm just not sure.

Regardless, I'm preparing for the worst though hoping and expecting the best.

Wish me luck please! I'm a lil scared........

xoxo always karla

10.08.2009

Show me the $$$$$$$$

It seems like everyone I've come into contact with recently is either planning to start a new business or has already started. SO- let's talk people! What sort of business would you like to see KARLA open???

I can tell you that there's an open stream of cute boutiques opening up everywhere, especially in the areas one would not expect. And with the advent of this new mall coming to West Kendall, a boutique or jewelry store may fit like a perfect size 7 Michael Kors platform!

..what else???

No food, please. I dont about the whole waking up at the crack of dawn and dealing with perishables...

I'll list some ideas and let you run with the pros and cons.......
  • retail -
    • clothes
    • shoes
    • handbags & clutches
    • jewelry
    • sexy intimates
    • novelty
    • arts & crafts
    • invitations
  • hair & nails - I may not know how to do your hair & nails but I can hire really, really good looking people who do! ;)
  • property management - it's what I do; been doing for 4 years.
    • management
    • leasing
  • Write a book -
    • children's book
    • miami art (locals)
    • cook book
    • finishing my award winning novel that Oprah will include in her book club and make me rich! (a girl can dream, right!?)

Anything you can think will be great...let's make it happen friends!!!!

xoxo always karla

10.07.2009

Back from Atlantis!!

Wow...great trip! Here are a few pics, EnJoY!!





















Happy Birthday Becky, "Stephanie" & Tiffanie!
& thanks to Phil & Ariel for a great time in Paradise
xoxoxoxo always karla!

9.30.2009

Humor never killed anyone...

We're off on a plane tomorrow to Atlantis and at our own expense, here are a few airplane jokes, enjoy!

A plane was taking off from Kennedy Airport. After it reached a comfortable cruising altitude, the captain made an announcement over the intercom, "Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking. Welcome to Flight Number 293, non-stop from New York to Los Angeles. The weather ahead is good and, therefore, we should have a smooth and uneventful flight. Now sit back and relax - OH, MY G-D!" Silence followed, and after a few minutes the captain came back on the intercom and said, "Ladies and Gentlemen, I am so sorry if I scared you earlier; but, while I was talking, the flight attendant brought me a cup of coffee and spilled the hot coffee in my lap. You should see the front of my pants!" A passenger in Coach said, "That's nothing. He should see the back of mine!"



And another one....

A young and foolish pilot wanted to sound cool on the aviation frequencies. So, this was his first time approaching a field during the nighttime. Instead of making any official requests to the tower, he said: "Guess who?" The controller switched the field lights off and replied: "Guess where?"


Ok, ok 1 more and that's it!!

Four people are in an airplane, the pilot, the smartest man in the world, the richest man in the world, and a punk teenager. The airplane experiences some difficulties, and the pilot informs the three passengers that the plane is going to crash, and there are only three parachutes on the plane. The richest man in the world takes one, because he says that his lawyers will sue everyone else on the plane if he doesn't survive. The smartest man in the world takes a parachute, because he thinks that the world would be a worse place without him. The pilot says to the punk "There's only one parachute left, I'll fight you for it." "That won't be necessary," said the punk, "The smartest man in the world took my backpack."



LMAO! xoxo always karla



9.28.2009

To Do List...

The weekend came and went and for the most part I laid low.

We're about 3 days away from hopping on a plane to Paradise Island, Bahamas and staying in Atlantis for the Paul & Young Ron event! I won't lie about 7 days ago I was soooo ready and well I have a feeling that the closer we get the more anxious I'll be. Is this normal??? Butterfliiiiiieeess!

Saturday was all about TCB however I still need at least one more cute bikini for the trip...So I was thinking either a solid black, white or purple. Any suggestions on where to go, oh yea and where I won't be spending OVER $50!? Fall is here after all...Clearance!

So far on the places of must stop shops, I've got:
  • The Electric Boutique
  • Angel Boutique
  • American Eagle
  • Victoria's Secret

Back to work I go, but I hope that won't stop anyone from responding to my post......!

xoxo always karla






pinup Pictures, Images and Photos

9.25.2009

Rant and Rave

Ok so here goes...A few weeks ago I wrote about how my marriage did not work out & there was no chance of it EVER working out. As a result, there was an out pour of how strong I am for doing and sharing and now nearly 3 months later I begin to date someone and mention it in my blog and I'm the bad girl? WTF? Talk about a dbl standard. The freakin guy violates the sacrament of marriage b/c he got an itch, goes off to live with ONE of the women and I have to sit and wait around?!

I mean really, although I hate to argue and disagree with my elders (b/c they're usually right), this time I'm standing my ground and saying, "it's isn't 1987 and he isn't the only man in the sea!" I can fish, I can swim and I can probably fly if I wanted to!

Shoot I remember when one of my exes & I broke up, we were together for nearly 5 years. after we broke, I was single for a short period of time, then I dated this awesome guy (we're still friends to this day), we were both young and going in different directions, I was going to FIU hanging out with my girls - enjoying my youth! So much so that I chose for myself to not have a declared bf. Revolutionary. It was during this time that I truly got a chance to figure myself out. TO know what I wanted... unfortunately, what I wanted to was to party, get wasted and hoook up! LMAO. So yea I was fun, but it didnt really work out in my favor in the long run. School suffered, parents didnt sleep and eventually that everyday link to all those "friends" is only through facebook. which is cool and not a total loss of what my life once was....but anyway, I'm writing b/c isn't life about reaching the top, falling down and getting right back up!? Re-inventing myself/yourself with every step (up or down)??

Long story short, I find myself at similar crossroads...newly separated from a long term relationship, back in the game and at FIU finishing up what I started so long ago. Except this time I get to use that thing called "hindsight" and more than likely although I am the same person, I'll make different choices.

Maybe one of those choices is to date someone now who shares the same views for the future, we can marry or not. I can serial date for the time being or not. I can also decide to successfully finish all the way through to my masters and live in harmony with my future husband, 2 kids and my cute chocolate lab in some comfortable house that suits all our needs for as long as Momma Earth wants us here!

The point is- don't judge or assume you know the present if you aren't in it. Ask questions, get involved and be supportive. If you don't agree, then do what you have to do you...That's all i'm saying.

thank goodness for blogs and venting...I didn't need that cig to bring me down after all.

xoxo always karla

9.23.2009

time and doctors heal all wounds...

So here I am sitting outside on the deck at work having my lunch; I'm making a few calls and payments between bites into my yummy chicken caesar wrap from au bon pain when I notice that I get an email from an old friend...AND it's him doing stand up! Rate it for yourself...
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHc__5nPz6k

____________________________________________

In other news, I applied for my US passport renewal last week, just a mere 16 days before travelling outside the US without, I repeat, without knowing that the process normally takes about 4-6 weeks AND an arm/leg to expedite without guarantee within 2-3 weeks! FML

Needless to say I'm missing an arm/leg but i'll be on vacation either way come Oct 1!

And well, thanks to Facebook, the cat's outta the bag! I'm dating someone and that's all I'm saying! ♥ ♥ ♥

xoxo always karla

9.10.2009

Return from Puerto Rican Paradise


It's been nearly 10 years since I last visited Puerto Rico. I'll tell you one thing, seeing with the eyes of a 26 yr old is definitely different than those innocent eyes of a 16 yr old! The roads seemed longer, the hills steeper and the streets cleaner back then.


Like many countries and islands in the Carribean, Puerto Rico is not excluded from the vast range of empoverished barrios to fast-paced luxury living. San Juan (primarily Condado) is booming and thriving with renovated hotels, restaurants and high end retail shops. It was great to visit Condado, however, my family in particular is spread out along the North, North East part of the island. I visited Guaynabo "City" LOL (& campo), Trujillo Alto, Bayamon, Santurce, Arecibo, Hatillo, Ponce ("Ponce es Ponce, y lo demas parqueo..." yea right! LOL) and rekindled in that humilty that is both my parents family, managing to pick up the occasional "bendito nene" "nena" "ay 'dito" "brutal" "papi" "es igual q' la mai" and a badass perspective on love & life. If I didn't know any better, I'd say I'm one lucky girl with great history and heritage!

A quick, but love filled shout out to Titi Luisa & Tio Hiram por brindar tu hogar, aire condicionado y paseos por la isla, Javi & Ana por ser buenos alumnos de salsa y choferres, Luis y Bebo, primos - por todo! Titi Lillian y Tio Angel por los piononos (yummmmm) y bizcocho! Nina- q' te mejores miamor, Yazmin y Maria- ojala nos vemos mas a menudo.

Titi Mimi y Tio Edwin, Omar, Marelis (y Wilfredo) y David - los aprecio muchisimo! Me diverti bastante en la playa de Hatillo y q rico el Frape y mini frituras! yummmm!! Titi y Tio como siempre su aconsejo es inestimable.


Abuela - bendicion!!!!!!!! No hay palabras, te adoro! besoooooo y abrazo


Abuelo Santo - gracias por los diez pesitos, aunque no era necesario..jaja, le compre un regalito a mis hermanos de parte tuya.

And, so here I am back in Miami, ready to hit the books and work again. Glad to be back...I missed my parents, brothers, mushu and friends very much. I'm grateful for the renewed connection with my extended family and wonderful new memories and safe flight to and fro; it is priceless.

xoxo always karla

9.02.2009

Happy Hump Bump Day!

Happy Hump Bump day! You know it must be lunch time if I'm blogging; LOL. I've had a few questions on how to create these fun little pics I post from time to time, the answer is http://www.picnik.com/! A friend or mine (Jackie) totally reeled me in - hook line & sinker! (Sink her, I didn't even know her! burumpbump! LMFAO...yea I'm bored.)

Anyway...............

So I saw "The Unborn" and it wasn't bad after all. Although I'm not necessarily a scary movie fan it was good.

Karla's movieheart rating: ♥ ♥ ♥

___________________________________

I do have a confession...it was supposed to be a secret. But the guilt is too heavy........I ate OREO cookies last night!!!!!! OMG I can so laugh about it now, but really, you should've seen me. I silently crept downstairs, opened the cupboard and as quietly as possible I opened the Oreos package. Poured myself a small glass of milk and ate...sigh. Then of course, my mother had to come downstairs TOTALLY CATCHING ME IN THE ACT! Ugh, there went all my credibility. Damn. So I wrapped it all up, told her she was nosey and went up to my room. I'm sorry mommy, didn't mean to, love you though. :-D

Just a few more minutes left of lunch, so I'll be wrapping this up now. No really, like it's time to say goodbye, I'll be back tomorrow. Hopefully anyway.

xoxo always karla

PS. Oh yea about this rain, can we make it go away, please? Thank you.

9.01.2009

Movie Tonight


I will see "The Unborn" tonight even if it kills me and I'm alone in the dark, darnit. There's nothing worse that having a movie for 1 week and not taking the time to actually sit down and watch it! Grr.

This one's a quickie! xoxo always Karla

8.31.2009

Back on the Diet

Hello, Hello everyone!

Boy am I looking forward to eating anything (AND everything) my family serves or stops for along the Puerto Rican coast line. But in order to be able to binge like that, I'll have to prepare. So, here's the deal- I leave in a just a few short days, meaning it's crunch time AND it's a must that I look good in a bikini on the beautiful beaches of Puerto Rico!


How so, you ask? Super simple. For lunch I'm having what's in the pic above and I added the recipe/preparation below, along with an exercise plan.
  • 4 oz serving of Lean or Extra Lean beef (seasoned with Adobo, cook on low heat, turn frequently)
  • 1/2 a Sweet Potato (sprinkled with I can't believe it's not butter, Sea Salt & Cinnamon for added flavor)
  • 1 cup of Fresh Broccoli.
I will exercise for the next 4 days consecutively (Monday & Tuesday: run 2 mi, Wednesday & Thursday: 30 min cardio/30-45 min weight training) and add Protein shakes in between each meal to keep my metabolism moving.


This meal is of course, for lunch, however I'll prob alternate this between lunch and dinner for the next 4 days. To keep the diet fresh and interesting I've added 4 different Lean Cuisine meals all having the similar components as to what I would normally cook (veggies, chicken, etc. avoiding the larger carb meals).


And for breakfast, egg whites (protein) with swiss cheese (dairy), 1 packet of instant oatmeal (carb -for early morning energy) & a glass of Orange Juice 6 oz (fruit).


I really hope I lose the few remaining pounds I need to look great in a bathing suit, so wish me luck everyone!!
________________________________

Oh, and btw this weekend was.....great! Went out to Waxy's opening on Friday & registered for the CAM (Community Association Manager, aka a licensed Property Manager) course for Sat & Sun, 18 hours but I did it! So now the next steps are to submit my background screening and $$ to then hopefully very soon take the State CAM exam.

And on a less fun side, I finally put away all that laundry sitting on my bed, set up my TV (sick!), and studied for class today. Boring, but productive. So, I'm content! LOL


4 days and counting...signing off. xoxo always, karla!

8.28.2009

Goals are more than yelling & scoring a point!


In preparation a few weeks ago to move all my belongings back to my parents house (including my doggy, Token the Great) I began to set little goals. At first I started with the packaging method I would use, then the cleaning method, then the getting all the crap into the car in the least amount of trips method....and well although it may sound trivial I planned, prepared and successfully achieved each small step. Once I was in (at the parental unit) I created a budget for myself; what do I make, what are my expenses, how much can I save and how much can I truly afford to spend.

So from the money I set aside from each paycheck, I've managed to add furniture to my bedroom, pay for school, have a mini-vacation to Puerto Rico, finally sign up for the CAM License this weekend (and few other too soon to mention items) AND start a money pot for GREECE!! This goal will obviously take a few months to realize, but without a doubt, most definately come into fruition! The girls and I are ready!!!!!!!! Locked and loaded, here we come yummy delicious European island men & sandy beaches......................!

Lunch break over and out!

I have a busy weekend ahead, yay!

xoxo always Karla

8.27.2009

good times, good friends


Got to make this a quick entry, I've only got a 30 minute lunch to eat & blog! So I didn't make it to the gym, however, I did run for 2.3 miles! I knew something great would happen..lol and in excellent company I saw "I Love You, Man" - Hilarious!!

Karla's movieheart rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hey, btw, I'm looking to make a yummy Italian dinner one of these nights, any suggestions?? My specialities are usually steak, fish, chicken & veggie plates. I'm sure most people would say pasta dishes are the easiest, but let's just say that's a plate I haven't mastered just yet. Again, Italian...

Time's up, the boss keeps pacing back and forth around my desk like a shark stalking its prey...so before i'm eaten alive, this girl's signed off!

xoxo always, karla

8.26.2009

All smiles


What a day. Woke up early, folded laundry, got dressed, walked my dog and fed him, drove to work had my usual starbucks deliciousness and a spectacular lunch at Rosa Mexicano with a few great people. Now, for as silly as it may sound, I can't wipe this silly grin off my face!

It's nearly time to drive back home and maybe, just maybe, i'll make it to the gym after I walk and feed my dog again. If not, I'm sure something as equally great will happen and life will continue to be great.

xoxo from the girl who won't stop smiling...Karla

8.24.2009

Monday....Friday


Had a great weekend; Thankfully. Although I couldn't do laundry, ahem, catching sun was definitely necessary and worth it! xoxo

Anywho, today's the first day of classes for me, as well as, every other public school student & teacher grades K-12. I've got my laptop ready for note taking, music listening, web surfing and photolab creations..! I'm a big girl now!!

Did I mention traffic was manageable...luckily.

Must get back to the grind, write ya later.

xoxo, Karla

8.18.2009

update














Hi everyone... I'm not generally one to put my business out there for everyone to know or gossip or pity, however, there's a pretty big change in my life as of last month. After a long time of bickering, arguing and simply being unhappy, my soon to be ex-husband has decided to date and start a relationship with another woman.

Although I was oblivious to his desire to date elsewhere I was aware of how much he needed to find peace somewhere - anywhere. Even though I never imagined or expected this would happen to us, it has.

Our relationship has since escalated to a point of no return, ie irreconcilable differences. Not even a friendship will be maintained. I miss and will continue to miss my stepdaughter and his family very much. It is my hope that we are all able to move progressively into our future pathes - where ever they may lead.

On a lighter note, I've settled back into my parents house and will begin classes next week. It's been an interesting summer, to say the least.

Pray for my job and for the people trying to get me out of my position... lord knows I love what I do and can't afford to lose it!

Sincerely,

Karla

7.28.2009

Ode to Cream Cheese

PHILDADELPHIA, sweet cream cheese spread
Packaged in silver, a lining to the day
Encased in colors white and blue, oh its you
Cheese so smooth, soft & white it's better than a marmalade
Only 70 calories and 8 grams of fat, 1 gram of sugar
and that's enough of that.
From purchase to first spread and tasteful bite
I am in your heaven's delight...
PHILADELPHIA, you are my friend and enemy-

Oh crap, I just got cream cheese in my hair.

7.17.2009

TGIF


Gemini (May 21 - June 21)
Friday, July 17, 2009

Your sense of intuition should be on the rise today and you should have a pretty good idea of what other people are thinking and feeling right now. You're also likely to have a real desire to help others at this time. Just try to pay attention to your dreams for some important clues about what your next step might be.

You should have the opportunity to have some interesting new insights at the moment. But you could also be feeling a little in the dark at times today, and there could be a bit of confusion to deal with when it comes to a varierty of different matters. But it could also be a good time for any sort of spiritual endeavors right now.

xoxo

i hearts; gems!

7.15.2009

I'm not going lie...


I've fucked up enough times to never say sorry again. Though here I am quietly whispering I love you's and I wish it weren't over in my head.


I love my babo bear and wish he'd still want me forever and ever.


Star light, Star bright

I Wish I may

I Wish I might

Have this Wish I Wish tonight...

7.08.2009

who foots the bill?

It's incredible how from the moment I applied for graduation (MDC) and readmission (to FIU) in January to actually graduating in May to receiving my acceptance letter to continue my education in June - whoa, time has flown. Although I won't be able to register until July 31st, I'm going crazy at the thought of how in the world am I going to pay for this?? Not that FIU is much more expensive than MDC...I've asked the universe who's going to foot the bill on this one?

Except, there I was, crickets in my ears and silence from the universe. So, I made a few calls and asked for solutions and advice from those that have already been in my shoes. "Google grants for women, hispanics, teachers, etc. etc." one friend told me.


I do this, as I'm advised and in this pursuit for money, funding and education I find there is very little wiggle room without the completion of the FAFSA. Irritating if you ask me, considering I was denied based on my husband & I combined make more than neccesary to qualify. However, what the FAFSA fails to recognize is my husband works based on commission; sometimes you're up and well sometimes you're not. Last year proved to be a great year for him (and us), except at the end of the year he was let go from his job and was basically forced to begin from scratch. And there's child support and unexpected expenses and well it wouldn't be fair to have my new husband take the responsibility of my education simply because he makes an honest living. How is that fair and not a strain on our relationship? This should either be paid for by me (like I did at MDC) or paid for by my parents (except they're about to enroll my younger brother) or well, by grants and loans! I'd like to go with that last option...


Anywho, it's been a tough 7 months financially, thinking and planning and attempting to save. Isn't it funny how when you plan to save, it's like being on a diet "hungry" gets in your way? Luckily though, we're surviving it all and I'm sure things will pick up, but it's ultimately not up to me. Unless of course, I can manage to find a job that pays $50k or more per year. And how am I able to do this while I'm attending school on part time basis?


So with the already stressed and tight times, I find myself unsure how I'm going to be able to afford FIU (post admission). I definitely didn't see this one coming...

6.25.2009

baby talk



So, I'm on the phone at work and the admin asst is at her desk and I overhear the squeal of "omg it's a boy..." the woman replies "ay, yes, he's in an incubator...he's only a few weeks old..." their conversation slowly fades from earshot and my brain wanders to "I must blog about this..."


What is about babies and toddlers - shoot, children of any age - that brings out a squeal in a woman? It's not like you'll hear a man say, "ohmygosh, that's the most...."

Uh, no, he'd probably comment once in a masculine voice or agree and add, "yea, that's one cute kid."


It's just so funny to me. This isn't only time this happend. I gush too, don't get me wrong. Maybe it's the fact that she's a parent and seeing a baby reminds her of her own daughter..?


Ok, there's this one other baby girl she's always gushing over and i'm convinced this girl's momma brings her by the office just for the attention the baby gets from us. She is so cute too. I remember the first time she stopped in I saw this gorgeous baby and was, "Omg, she's just like Snow White! With her light skin, blue eyes & black hair...she's gorgeous!"


Fogedabouit from that point without fail as soon as that door opens its "ahh look Snow White is here!" and her mom just laughs and laughs, walks in and walks out and it's always the same thing, "Oh, I forgot my pen..my ID..my (insert anything here)!"


Seriously, it's got to be a combo of giving and taking and seeking attention that keeps this cycle perpetually endless or - pause - I don't have an answer.


All I know is it's contagious!




6.16.2009

Correction-Woosah for ya!

Effn die, I'm here in my not so warm bath just about to dry off & give a good ole woosah after writing this long ass entry AND it's all gone. Effn die.

Let me tell it was a great warm setting too! Peach candles, rose petals AND f-fantastic!

W/e blogging out my thougts even if no one but me got to read was therapeutic in itself.

I'm done.

My legs are still a bit sore, the bath helped though. Saw the hangover this weekend- hilarious! But phil (same guy from he's just not that into you, idk his real name) totally helped heal my pain as well. I think he's my newest celebucrush! (don't worry my husbands not jealous)

Ok really, I'm officially pruning. Bubbles are gone..I'm done here for real now.

G'night.

PS. I hope I'm not supposed to be making money off this blog...

Hope you enjoyed my short rant & hey maybe you'll remember this when I've made a difference in mine, your or no one's life either way have fun with it all.

We may only live in this one body once.

That was my woosah, a bit different than how I initially pictured it. Eh.

Wow. I'm in calf pain...

Okay people so I worked out legs on Sunday and of course, me thinking I'm a champ and can do anything; I overworked my calf muscles! Either way without fail I was back at the gym yesterday for the usual 30 minutes of cardio. I finished my workout and was in even more pain. I may have strained the muscle even more. Yes, I am a genius.

So, now I look like this guy here (a waddling penguin) up and down my office; not that it's a big office either, on my tipee toes. Ugh, the thought alone of getting up to get coffee or the report I printed is painful!

What can I say, "Beauty is pain and love hurts...!" (Yes, you may infer I love myself...)
until we blog again...................tons of xoxo's!!






6.15.2009

I'm a June Babyyyy!

So, it's Monday - again - and I love my best friends! We took quite a few pics over this past birthday weekend, here are a few of the "permissible" ones! Enjoy...

Is that my name on the menu!? Yesss!


In the Wine Room @ Angelo & Maxie's

The girls and I @ Angelo & Maxie's



Biiirrthhdayyy Cake (sex), Birthday Cake (sex)...!


red-headed sluts!



Albeeear & Mr. Babo Bear



*Cesar & Jackie*

lookin fab for the papps!

*~*All of us girls together @ Big Fish!*~*

This is the most delicious man I will ever know!


We go back like baby's and pacificiers!

hello ladies! Smile...

Our super cute couple's group pic!

Guille bear, Cesar & Jackie bear!



Mary, Ana, Myself and Vee @ Big Fish


Thank you for an amazing 26th birthday everyone, I should have more pics soon!! xoxo

We also headed out to Epic afterwards, but, uh, yea let's keep those memories in our brains!!!